The day was great until the moment of ruin

So today, I was having a great day. I had a nice cookout with some “friends” and our mental health support worker. She leaves tomorrow for an 11-day vacation to visit her family and celebrate her 50th Birthday. What a milestone that is in someone’s life considering I am not sure I will ever make it that far or long in life. Overall, it was a really nice time and I enjoyed myself and had a great time spending time with one of their 5-year-old sons. We climbed the tree and I hope he had fun too. As there really was no entertainment for him but I tried to make it fun for him also. I no longer have my ids so I no longer have toys for his age as I ridded myself of all the toys finally after lugging them around for so long. The last of them went right before I moved into this building last year. I held onto them way too long after my kids were long gone but finally had enough closure I was able to let go of them and sometimes regret it but I did it and it was therapeutic when I got rid of the last one before moving here which was my son Daniel’s remote control truck I had bought him for his Birthday in 2006.

So anyways my enjoyment stopped when the it was time for the child and his mother to leave and she was not paying attention to him and listening when he was trying to tell her something as she was talking to me and had the food in her hand that I was sending home with them and her laptop in her other hand. He pulled on her arm to get her attention and she dropped the food and in angered yelled at him and hit him. I was very angry with her and saddened. She them turned to me and told me well there it is you will have to pick it up I will call you later and walked away yelling at the child about the food after she had just abused him. I was angry with her. I was saddened for the child. This was not the first time I have seen her do this but this was the first time she had publically done this to him in front of a counselor and other people who did not really know plus it was at my home and she acted as if she really did not care.

She later called me to apologize for her hitting her son and tried to lie to me saying it was the first time and she did not know why she had done it. However, in fact I had seen her do it two other times to him but at her home. I am angered even more by her denial of her behaviors towards her child and her belief in her innocence as she reminds me so much of my mother and my ex husband who belied his own lies once he told them. I am also angered by my mental health workers lack of action at this other clients abusive behavior in front of her towards her child and it feels just as it felt when I was younger and my mother told everyone what was going on and they listened and did not look at the signs of my behavior and instead just listened to my mother’s manipulative words. The worker believes this person is naive and innocence and easily taken advantage of and manipulated when in fact she is the manipulative, takes advantage of, devious, lying, person that she has people believing happens to her so often as she uses marijuana more and more and cares less and less about her child. Her life is falling apart quickly and seems to be going down the drain fast but yet I cannot stop it. I cannot do anything about it as she is in denial and she is lying to herself and everyone around her. She is manipulating her son, her workers, her life, and her child’s life. I cannot change her, I cannot change the workers in her or her child’s life, and I cannot change the system. Nevertheless, I must change my own stress, reaction, and how I cope with all this as it is destroying me more and more. I become angrier each encounter I experience and it seems to get worse than the one before.

Leave a Reply

